You are here: Home Users Mark Newman 2021-2022 City of Belfast 2022 City Of Belfast 2022 : June 17th to 19th. FIDE rated.

City Of Belfast 2022 : June 17th to 19th. FIDE rated.

City of Belfast Championships. 5 rounds over 3 days. At the Civil Service Pavilion.

Event details


Jun 17, 2022 06:00 PM to
Jun 19, 2022 07:00 PM


NICS,Maynard Sinclair Pavilion, Stormont, Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast, BT4 3TA

Contact Name

Contact Phone


Add event to calendar

The City of Belfast Tournament.

Venue: The Pavilion, Northern Ireland Civil Service Social Club, Stormont Estate, Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast, BT4 3TA
Entry Fee: £25 for adults who have registered before 12 noon on  Monday13th June 2022  . £30 for adults after deadline.
£20 for Under 18s if registered by deadline or £25 for late entry.
£20 for university students if registered by deadline or £25 for late entry.
We will collect fees when players register at the event.
Players will be defaulted if they arrive more than 30 minutes after the start of the round.
In the event of players finishing on equal points a tie-breaking system will be applied for titles and money prizes.
(First tie-break will be Median Buchholz followed, if necessary, by Buchholz then progressive scores.)
Format: 5 Round Swiss

Sections: there will be 2 sections - the Nemtzov Cup (over 1600) and Henderson Cup (under 1600) The actual format/rating split will be subject to number of entries.

Prize money: To be confirmed

Playing Schedule:

Friday 17th June

Registration 6:00pm

Round 1: 6:30pm

Saturday 18th June

Round 2: 10am

Round 3: 3pm

Sunday 19th June

Round 4: 10am

Round 5: 3pm

Sections: 2 - over 1600, under 1600 (this is subject to change based on entries)

Time Control: 90 mins +30 seconds (all moves must be recorded)

We are applying for this tournament to be FIDE rated.

Covid rules to be confirmed. Players will accept these by entering the tournament.

Players must pre-register with contact details prior to the 17th of June.

Arbiters: Mark Newman, Damien Lavery
Entries: Must be made with Mark Newman
Registered players as at: 14/06/2022 21:00
Name Travelling
Modestas Razbadauskas 1921
Dean Gorman Rd1 1768
Danny Mallaghan 1694
Conor Spackman 1681
James McDonnell 1625
Des Moreland 1600
Adam Rushe 1593
Bobby Thompson 1547
Chris Armstrong Rd2 1509
Robert Lavery 1485
Andrew Todd 1484
Nikolai Dimitrov 1463
James Douglas 1400
Ethan Cole 1318
Pat McKillen 1277
Kyle Milligan 1260
Adrian Dornford-Smith 1257
John Monaghan 1134
Ashish Shambharkar 1100
Seamus Martin 1080
Aadhi Sooraj 1000